ARC R11 2018 Build Review

Over the last few years I have had a chance to build a number of ARC cars and I have always been very impressed with the build quality and the spec of their cars out of the box.  The other thing I love about ARC cars is that they always produce a full upgrade kit for the previous years model so your investment lasts that bit longer.  Here is a link to the review I did moving from the 2016 to the 2017 car.

Recently the distribution of the ARC 10th electric touring cars moved from Zen Racing to Torque-RC which is run by Colin Jackson and Wayne Gorey. I had a good chat with them and their plans to grow a team around the R11 and was very impressed with their enthusiasm and also some of the initial results from Billy Fletcher and Colin himself, both running the R11 2018 in anger at the BRCA and Clubman championships here in the UK.

Based on this a nice shiny blue box duly arrived on my doorstep ready for review…

IMG_3235-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

Before launching into the full review I thought I would do something a bit different with a YouTube unboxing video basically showing what come in the box when you first open it, the different bags and contents… my first attempt so don’t be too hard on me LOL

On with the build and straight away we are into building the spool, diff and centre pulley

IMG_3239-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3240-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3241-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3242-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3244-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3245-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3246-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3247-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3248-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3252-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3253-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3254-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3255-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3256-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3258-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3261-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3262-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3263-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3265-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3266-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3269-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3273-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3274-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3275-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3276-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3277-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3278-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3279-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3280-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3281-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3282-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3283-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3284-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3287-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3290-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3291-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3292-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3294-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3296-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3297-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3298-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3299-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3300-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3301-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3302-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3303-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3304-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3305-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3306-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3307-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3308-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3309-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3310-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3312-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3314-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3317-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3318-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3319-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3320-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3321-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3322-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3323-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3324-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

IMG_3316-2018-07-8-09-55.jpg

My first outing with the R11 was at the UMCC’s track at Ballymoney in Northern Ireland.  The track is medium grip with some technical and fast parts, a nice track to drive.  The weather was amazing when we arrived…

I went with Colin Jackson’s Bedworth setup with the alloy 4 deg hub carriers. Initial thoughts were that the car was a bit loose on the rear. I did some changes lowering diffs, lowered and then removed the lower roll centre spacers. Car got better each time giving more grip but I just found the steering too much which I think was causing the back end to feel loose and also oversteering out of the corners.  I decided I was chasing the setup too much, changing too much. So for the last run of the day I pretty much headed back towards kit setup with the front of the car. Removed the alloy hub carriers, went to one dot hinge pin holders all round. Left the lower roll centre 0.3 all round and the 1.6mm top deck shimmed up 1mm.  After all that I ended up with a neutral car that had plenty of grip and steering but one I had the confidence to push. So I feel that I have a good base setup and I have a great feeling for the next outing in two weeks time.

Thanks again to Colin and Wayne for the car and the support so far in running the R11 and watch this space for anything else that comes up around ARC and Torque-RC.