Reds Racing TX120 speedo and VX motor review (updated)

(As promised I have updated this review after my first run… check out the full details after the review to see my settings and how I arrived at them.  Bottom line, I was very happy with all the Reds kit…)

In the last few days some Reds Racing electrics for 10th have arrived on my desk which I am hoping will run very well in my touring car or 13.5 boosted racing at our club.

I have to say thanks to John Broadhurst at JC Racing Products for the chance to try something a bit different. (For the record I did pay for these products so I do have the chance to say what I want!)…

I ordered a Reds TX120 speedo, a 13.5 VX motor and the programming box to update and program the speedo.  And three nice boxes arrived on my desk a couple of days later;

wpid-IMG_0262-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

The motor itself feels very solid and the case is CNC 6061 T6 machined aluminium.  There are some nice large holes in the case that will hopefully help airflow;

wpid-Reds-4-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

Inside the can the laser etched rotor runs on very smooth bearings and is laser etched for diameter, in the case of the stock rotor it is 12.4mm.  It is, of course homologated for BRCA as well as ROAR, EFRA and JMRCA so good the world over!

For me one of the things that I like to play with when tuning a motor for the track and especially when running at blinky events is timing and the can allows you to crank it up to 45 degrees (be careful!!).  Reds supply a sensor cable in the box but it is quite long for touring car purposes so I swapped it out for a shorter one.

wpid-Reds-5-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

The solder tabs are silver coated and the sensor connector is in the usual place on the nice red and white timing plate;

wpid-Reds-6-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

A final side view just in case you forgot that you had purchases a REDs Racing 13.5!

wpid-Reds-7-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

The TX120 which is designed specifically for 2s racing looks very nice with its black billet aluminium housing, black fan and the splash of red with the Reds racing decal in place;

wpid-Reds-11-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

The connector to go to the receiver and the switch come out of one side of the speedo beside the connector for the fan and two lights for setup and showing blinky mode when required.

wpid-Reds-12-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

On the other side are the motor connectors and I love that Reds supply black wires in the box all marked with heatshrink to show the Red, Black, Blue, Yellow and Orange so yu wire it correctly.  I have always changed my wires from Blue, Yellow and Orange to make the speedo look a bit more stealth so it’s great that the wires are in the box.

The capacitor is soldered underneath to the +/- terminals and I unsoldered it to shorten the wires on the capacitor to put it along the side of the speedo to go into my car.

wpid-Reds-13-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

Even the programming box feels quality, nice and strong so that it can rattle around in my pit box!  Reds also supply a USB cable so connect the box to your computer;

wpid-Reds-8-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

A closer view of the box;

wpid-Reds-9-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

When I knew I was getting the Reds electrics I immediately installed their PC software (you can get it here; http://www.reds-racing.com/#!download/c3gk) and this is what is looks like when you start it up;

Reds-PC-Screen

I had no problems installing it on a Windows 10 laptop and when I connected the speedo to my PC I was able to see and modify all the settings easily.

And here are the electrics all installed and ready to go in my HPI Pro 5.  I thought about shortening the speedo cable into the receiver but left it longer to make it easier to connect to the program box;

wpid-Reds-14-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

Note that after these pictures were taken I did install a 30mm fan on the motor as we run 13.5 boosted and speed/power = heat!

wpid-Reds-15-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

Shorter sensor wire in place and I think that the whole setup looks very neat;

wpid-Reds-16-2015-11-23-20-35.jpg

So I will go racing this weekend with the Reds in place and I have a starting setup sheet all ready (you can get some base setup sheets for blinky and mod here; http://www.reds-racing.com/#!setups/ch51 along with some team driver setups and a blank setup sheet).

Update after first days racing…

As promised I ran the Reds TX120 and VX motor at the weekend at our local club round.  We run 13.5 boosted so I started with a conservative setup on the speedo, running Power Level 7 and a drive frequency of 8.  I like boost rather than lots of turbo so I put 40 boost and 20 turbo on as well.  I also set the turbo delay to OFF.  I left the physical timing on the motor at the factory set 20 degs.  I started with the gearing on the car set to 8.0.

First run and while the car felt nice and smooth it was not quick (or as quick as I would like as our track is a good sized gym).  I brought the car in and set the physical timing on the motor up to 30 degs.  Back out and now the motor was starting to come alive.  I did the first round of qualifying with those settings but against some others my car was still off the pace, not by much.

For round two I went to punch level 9 (to the max!!) and I increased the physical timing on the motor to 35 degrees.  My final change was to make the drive frequency 4kHz to help it feel more torquey.  The car was great, definitely on the pace and it felt nice to drive as well.  I was getting faster each run although the motor was hitting 75 degrees so I backed the physical timing back down to 32 degs.  I also moved my FDR to 8.29 and this again helped with acceleration on the shorter parts of the track and out of the corners.

All in all I was really pleased with the Reds electrics and I feel there is more to come.  The following were my settings on the day with the exception that I was down to 4kHz drive frequency as I mentioned above.

Reds-Settings